Wrenching a Kawasaki Z 440 ltd beltdrive 

Customizing my retro motorcycle. Read more about the story, how I will change my Kawasaki Z 440 ltd into an authentic kickstart motorcycle.

Thoughts

I ride motorcycles a longer time than I’m allowed to. I rode trips that my friends tried to prevent me from. Even worse: i started wrenching engines and all motorcycle stuff from 50 ccm to 750.

I am strongly linked to design and materiality as well.

Two years ago I bought my Kawasaki Z 440 ltd beltdrive for small money. Rode it as it was, it worked, performed better with each mile, we rode and lately, my Zilver4FourT and I went down south to my place of birth, back and forth a trip of 720 k each way. No problem. Two travelling days.

Now, it’s cold outside including slippery lanes and foggy visors. Time for a major wrenchtime. My brothers garage including a wrench lift and some basic tools will be helpful, also brotherhood feelings in dark wrenching hours such as a overwinding a thread or you name it.

The plan

What is the most authentic way of starting a motorcycle’s engine? I am referring to the YouTube motion pictures “Who the fuck is El Solitario”: ” […] if you want this thing to make you smile, understand it and kick it.”

I want to get my motorcycle to life kicking it gently, understanding at the same time, what would be the best in terms of fuel-air mixture, temperature, ignition and of “how hard was the night for my bike”.

My Zilver4FourT hasn’t got a kicker. But I swear it will by my birthday. Then, we are going to celebrate a double birthday.

Hang on for a sec. I’ll be back.

Hamburg, Germany

CeeTee

 

Leave a Reply

